Visit HACC Campuses:  HACC Logo  Gettysburg   HACC Logo  Harrisburg   HACC Logo  Lancaster   HACC Logo  Lebanon   HACC Logo  Virtual   HACC Logo  York  
HACC Home
spacer
color gradient Campus photos Campus Photos
  Home |  About Us  |   Academics |  Admissions  |   Continuing Education  |  Library  | Student Life  |   Student Services  |   HACCWeb
green curve

Research Guide: Photography - Websites


Copyright Protection on Images: Art Resource

Basic information about what is and isn't protected; rights to reproduce, modify and distribute copies of an images; fair use; and how to be creative without violating copyright

American Memory: Great Depression to WWII

America from the Great Depression to World War II - FSA Photographs.

American Memory:  Daguerreotypes

America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views,
1839-1864.

American Museum of Photography

Descriptions of various photographic processes - albumen prints to Woodburytype, with links to other photography sites.

Cleveland Museum of Art

Biographical information on photographers.

Cleveland Museum of Art

Definitions of photographic terms.

The Daguerreian Society

Art and science of the early photographic process known as daguerreotype.

Digital Photography Review

Digital camera database and buying guide, digital photography
timeline and glossary of terms. An excellent, comprehensive, consistently maintained site.

Digital Photography - Short Courses

An online library for digital photographers. Contains the full-text of the site developers Short Course on Digital Photography and informationabout books on digital photography.

First Photograph

History of the first photograph, taken by Nicephore Niepce in 1826.  Site is maintained by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas, Austin.

George Eastman House Photography Collections Online

Digital image sampler and browsing resource for the vast photography holdings of the George Eastman House.

Helios - Photography Online

Smithsonian American Art Museum’s online photography collection.  Includes “First Century of American Photographs,” “Contemporary American Landscape Photography” and “American Daguerreotypes.”

History of Photography from Its Beginnings to the 1920's

Information about photographers and photographic processes in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

J. Paul Getty Museum - Explore Art

Search for information on photographers and photographs in the vast collection of the J. Paul Getty Museum.

Los Angeles County Museum of Art - Photography Collection

Browse the photograph collection by artist, date, exhibition or subject.  Notable subjects are California landscapes, self-portraits, works by Edward Weston and Pictorial photographs.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

Includes digitized photographs from the NYPL photographic collection of over 400,000 images, arranged by subject.

Photojournalism - Magnum Photos

Site of Magnum Photos, an agency for photojournalists founded by Robert Capa and others in 1947.

Photojournalism - VII Photo Agency

Named after the seven founding photo-journalists who formed this collectively owned agency in 2001.  Includes slide shows and images that define the turbulent opening years of the 21st century.

Photomontage - Cut and Paste

History of photomontage, with examples, from the 19th century to the present day.

Ted's Photographics

Information about photographers, photographic history and photographic technology.

UCR/California Museum of Photography

University of California, Riverside’s photography museum site.  Online access to collections and web projects.

Technical Support | Contact Us © 2009 Library and Information Resources, HACC